Circulation FAQ

Who can borrow from the Library?

MUSC faculty, students and staff. Members of the Charleston Academic Library Consortium and outside health professionals may borrow up to five books, but no journals. Students, staff, and faculty in any South Carolina University.

How do I register with the Library?

All borrowers must register at the 2nd or 4th floor service desks in the Library. MUSC staff, faculty, and staff must present an MUSC ID card.
Charleston Academic Library Consortium must present a current institutional ID card. Health professionals must present proof of being a health professional. Students from other South Carolina Universities must present their University ID card.

Who is included in the Charleston Academic Library Consortium?

Faculty, students and staff from the College of Charleston, Trident Technical College, the Citadel, and Charleston Southern University.

How long may I check out Library materials?

MaterialsLoan PeriodRenewalsOverdue Fines
Books28 days2$ .25 per day
Theses28 days2$ .25 per day
Dissertations28 days2$ .25 per day
Pamphlets28 days2$ .25 per day
Unbound Journals *1 day0$1.00 per day
Bound Journals *3 days3$ .25 per day
Bound Journals: pre-1970 *3 days3$ .25 per day
AudioVisuals7 days1$ .25 per day
Audio Digests7 days1$ .25 per day
Reserves *2 hours0$1.00 per hour
iPads *7 days0$5.00 per day
Microsoft Surface *6 hours0$10.00 per hour
ChromeBook *6 hours0$10.00 per hour
Macbook Air *6 hours0$10.00 per hour

* Journals, Reserves, and Digital-E items circulate to MUSC affiliated patrons only.
* Hourly items are in-library use only and must be returned 30 minutes prior to staff leaving, 8:30 pm on Sunday-Thursday or 5:30 pm on Friday.
Note: Saturdays and Sundays are included in the loan period.

How do I renew my library materials?

If you need materials for longer than the initial loan period, please renew on or before the due date. Renewals are granted unless another patron requests the material. Renewals may be made by phone, or on the web. PASCAL requests cannot be renewed until one day after the due date.

Are there any exceptions to these borrowing privileges?

Books and journals may be checked out to carrels in the library for a period of one month by MUSC faculty and students. Books may be checked out to MUSC faculty for up to three months; they may be recalled if another patron requests them. Reference books, books published prior to 1921, and indexes/abstracts, do not circulate.

Where can I return library items?

You may return your library materials at either service desk on the 2nd or 4th floor. If the library is closed, you may use the book drop located by the second floor elevators to return materials, or the outside book drop located on the Basic Sciences side of the Administration/Library building.

For more information about circulation services or policies, please call 792-2381.